Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Fostering a strong sense of community

Dear campus community,

On Friday, Jan. 27, President Trump issued an Executive Order on Immigration suspending entry into the United States for citizens from seven countries – Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen – for the next 90 days.

Several members of our university community come from the countries directly affected by this executive order. The Office of International Education has been in contact with our international students to offer support and counsel. I have reached out to faculty members from the seven countries who are permanent residents of the United States.

As our strategic plan, Impact 2017, makes clear, Bloomsburg University is committed to fostering inclusive excellence and developing a strong sense of community – affirming that our diversity makes us a stronger, more vibrant, and more creative community. We are committed to policies of non-discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin ancestry, disability or veteran status. We strive to protect the privacy of all of our students and employees. If the immigration changes are adversely affecting you, campus resources are available for assistance, including the University Counseling Center, staff within the Division of Student Affairs, Dean of Students Office, Office of International Education Services, academic advisors, professors or colleagues in departments or colleges and Human Resources.

We will continue to monitor developments and share updated information as it becomes available.

#CollaborativeLearning #SenseOfCommunity #CoCurricularLearning

No comments:

Post a Comment